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The Ultimate B2B Marketing Glossary

Envy

Churn rate. When customers cancel subscriptions or stop buying from your company, they've churned. The Churn rate is the percentage of total customers who churn, and you'll track the churn rate to calculate overall CLTV and refine your marketing to retain these clients.

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41 Execs Discuss Key B2B Marketing Metrics to Watch in 2018

SnapApp

The faster the follow-up with an SQL, the higher the close rate. . 4: Cost-Per-Lead (CPL). . CPL thresholds will vary quite a bit based on the product and industry. The goal is to generate a campaign that has a low CPL, and high MQL-SQL conversion rate. . Common tool used: Marketo. . #4: 5: Opportunities. .

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The three pillars to overcome SaaS marketing complexity

ClickZ

Then, once visitors arrive, sites must be able to quickly provide the information they seek and facilitate speedy conversions. To maintain sustainable success and growth, it’s essential for SaaS publishers to ensure the cost per lead (CPL) and cost per acquired customer (CAC) is equal to — or hopefully lower than — the returns they receive.

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The Critical Role of Analytics in Content Operations

ClearVoice

Cost-per-lead (CPL) : Measures how much you’re paying to generate potential customers and whether it’s cost-effective. Avg engagement rate: How actively involved your audience is with your content. Bounce rate: The percentage of visitors who leave your site after viewing only one page. But these days, you don’t have to.

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The Anatomy of an Effective SaaS Lead Generation Strategy

Single Grain

What’s the churn rate? Churn rate is the amount of customers who stopped using your service over a set period of time (typically a month but you can also measure it per quarter). It’s reckoned that 5% is a good churn rate for SaaS companies. Informational Intent – KNOW. Navigational Intent – GO.

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30 Sales and Marketing Terms You Should Know

PureB2B

Churn Rate. Refers to any information designed to be consumed by a particular audience. Cost-per-Lead (CPL). For instance, if you spent $100 on a marketing campaign that resulted in a total of 10 new leads, your CPL for that campaign would be $10. Refers to the average cost of acquiring one lead for your business.

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30 Terms Every Sales and Marketing Professional Should Know

PureB2B

Churn Rate. Refers to any information designed to be consumed by a particular audience. Cost-per-Lead (CPL). Refers to the person (or role) responsible for enabling or preventing information from reaching another person within the company. This is a metric that measures what percentage of your customers you retain.